The Nifty Fifty

I have been searching for ways to improve my photography lately. I got discouraged over the winter and spring months because I hadn’t acquired any new clients or new interest in sessions. So I let it go to the wayside. However, now, I’ve kicked it into full gear. I’ve asked many friends to allow me to use them and their kids as “models” so that I can bulk up my portfolio.

I decided that if I’m going to put all of this effort into it, I need to get a better lens than the kit lens that came with my Nikon D5500. After days of going back and forth between the 50mm and the 35mm lenses, I decided on the 50mm and I am so glad that I did! It is perfect for the portrait photography that I was to do and the look that I want to achieve.

Here are some test shots I did on Mollie and Maddie.

Seriously, look at those side-eyes that Mollie was giving me in the last one; sums up all of her distain towards me, haha!

I’m so pumped. What’s your favorite lens to shoot with?!

Leave a Reply

